Virtual reality - what is it?

As more and more of our customers, when looking at the list of services, ask the question “what kind of reality?”, We decided to make a small explanation. Virtual reality, augmented reality, what is it and what does it eat with? - The answers to these questions you will learn in this article.

Let's start with the most popular:

A VIRTUAL REALITY

A virtual reality

Virtual reality is usually called artificial space in which the user feels the full effect of presence. It turns out this very "presence effect" due to the effect on the main human senses - sight, hearing, touch - and sometimes the smell.

Vision is not just on this list in the first place - it is through it that we get most of the information about the world around us (blind ninjas from Japanese and Hollywood fighters do not take into account). Actually, this is why most of the specialized & nbsp; devices have the form of glasses - we must see this reality with our own eyes.

In this regard, one of the basic principles of virtual reality is the so-called. stereo effect. The essence of this effect lies in the fact that our two eyes see slightly different pictures. It is easy to notice, alternately closing your eyes. The current technologies take into account this difference and adjust a slightly different picture to each eye. And to these images covered the entire field of view, lenses are used.

In other words, in virtual reality glasses, we see not one picture, but two - and as a result, visible objects appear voluminous and similar to real ones (if the resolution and quality of the texture, of course, allow).

Take a closer look - the image in the pictures is slightly different

The second basic element of virtual reality is to achieve the possibility of interaction with this very reality. In other words, for complete immersion we need not only to see three-dimensional objects, but also to be able to move and feel them. In addition, the opportunity to move oneself is extremely necessary: what kind of reality is it if one cannot move from one point in it?

As you understand, this task will be more complicated than the stereo effect, however modern technologies have learned to cope with it. & Nbsp; True, so far this is the lot of only expensive devices equipped with a full-fledged system of substations. The essence of the technology is based on LEDs and is explained by the fact that the base stations with a certain periodicity send laser beams to the glasses themselves and thus accurately measure their position in space. This allows you to track the movement of the head and adjust the image under it.

Sample location tracking helmet

In more budgetary decisions such technologies are not used. There, you need a keyboard or joystick to interact with items.   Although it is possible to look around in them.

ADDITIONAL REALITY

The simplest example with one of the simplest Nokia

At once we will tell - these are not synonyms and not complementary solutions. These are two completely different technologies.

Augmented reality (from the English. Augmented reality - AR) is the technology of “drawing” a picture or video on the image received from the device's camera. Everyone probably remembers some movies about robots, in the eyepieces (eyes?) Of which clues immediately appear about the place, enemy weapons, etc. This is augmented reality.

The simplest gadget for using augmented reality is a smartphone - modern power is enough for processing and “drawing” the necessary content. Each of us must have come across some application that adds some elements and effects to the front camera image - this is also an augmented reality.

The spectrum of the use of augmented reality, oddly enough, is much wider than that of virtual reality. Medicine, military equipment, cars - it would be convenient for everyone to receive any information directly on the screen of glasses or onboard glass. However, the creation of specialized instruments for viewing this very reality is more complicated and expensive. At the moment, there is a depressing   small number of such devices.

However, in the future, this gap will be filled - the potential for AR development is huge. Virtually any object you can embed certain tags that the device will read. Every item in the store, every building on a guided tour and much more.

DEVICES FOR VIEWING

Equipment to enter heaven

Devices for working with VR can be divided into 2 groups - helmets and headsets. Let's talk more.

Helmets are systems equipped with a full screen and substations to determine the location of the helmet. Such devices are also called Head Mounted Display - i.e. head-mounted displays. In fact, the way it is - the devices are monitors with lenses and location sensors. Such monitors are put on the head - and voila. You are in virtual reality. This type of device includes the Oculus Rift, HTC Vive and PlayStation VR.

Benefits:

  • real virtual reality, with almost no limits.

Disadvantages:

  • Weight - the device weighs about 300-400 grams and with long-term use guaranteed unpleasant sensations in the neck.
  • Price - devices are complex, costly - hence the price.
  • The need to have a powerful PC - we did not just call helmets "monitors". And monitors always need a system unit.

The second type of device is the so-called "headset" - a device that represents a sort of stand for a smartphone with lenses. The most famous of them are Samsung Gear VR, Fibrum and Google Cardboard.

One of the most budget options for headset glasses

How does it work? Just. A smartphone with a running application is inserted into the case, a wireless remote control (joystick / keyboard) and headphones are connected to it (to the smartphone). Thanks to the lenses, the smartphone screen is enlarged and voila - we are in virtual reality. However, it is necessary to move in it by pressing the keys, and for turning the head, the smartphone must be equipped with a gyroscope.

Benefits:

  • price (Fibrum costs about 3 thousand rubles).

Disadvantages:

  • The need to use third-party controllers for movement.
  • The need for a powerful smartphone.

FORECAST FOR THE FUTURE

Probably, in the future, the expression " send the child for a walk " will cease to be connected with the street

According to Canalys, in 2016, over 2 million devices of the “helmet” class were sold. With regards to the headset devices, their sales have exceeded several million.

However, these figures are far from bright - say analytical agencies. The demand turned out to be lower than expected and the reason for that was the lack of content. Analysts say the industry still needs time to grow.

Our company agrees with the opinion of analysts. About two years ago, few people even heard about the glasses of virtual reality - but now the industry is developing rapidly. Now, high-quality devices are still expensive - but remember, was it not exactly the same with mobile phones and computers that practically everyone has today?

It remains only to wait and prepare the content for adaptation. And sometime (it is very likely that already soon enough) glasses of virtual or augmented reality will press standard monitors.

Виртуальная реальность - что это?

Поскольку все больше наших клиентов при виде списка услуг задается вопросом «какая-какая реальность?», мы решили сделать небольшое пояснение. Виртуальная реальность, дополненная реальность, что это такое и с чем это едят? – Ответы на эти вопросы вы узнаете в этой статье.

Начнем с наиболее популярного:

ВИРТУАЛЬНАЯ РЕАЛЬНОСТЬ

Виртуальная реальность

Виртуальной реальностью обычно называется искусственное пространство, в котором пользователь ощущает полный эффект присутствия. Получается этот самый «эффект присутствия» благодаря воздействию на основные органы чувств человека – зрение, слух, осязание – а иногда и обоняние.

Зрение не просто так стоит в этом списке на первом месте – именно через него мы получаем большую часть информации об окружающем мире (слепых ниндзя из японских и голливудских боевиков в расчет не берем). Собственно, именно поэтому большая часть специализированных  приборов имею форму очков – мы должны видеть эту реальность собственными глазами.

В связи с этим одним из базовых принципов виртуальной реальности является т.н. стереоэффект. Суть этого эффекта заключается в том, что два наших глаза видят немного разные картинки. Это легко заметить, поочередно закрывая глаза. Нынешние технологии учитывают эту разницу и подстраивают под каждый глаз немного разную картинку. А чтобы эти картинки закрывали все поле зрения, используются линзы.

Иными словами, в очках виртуальной реальности мы видим не одну картинку, а две – и в результате видимые предметы кажутся объемными и похожими на настоящие (если разрешение и качество текстуры, конечно, позволяют).

Присмотритесь - изображение на картинках немного разное

Вторым базовым элементом виртуальной реальности является достижение возможности взаимодействия с этой самой реальностью. Иными словами, для полного погружения нам надо не только видеть объемные предметы, но также иметь возможность двигать и ощущать их. Кроме того, крайне необходима возможность двигаться самому: какая же это реальность, если в ней нельзя сдвинуться с одной точки?

Как понимаете, эта задачка будет посложнее стереоэффекта, однако современные технологии научились справляться и с ней.  Правда, пока что это удел лишь дорогих устройств, снабженных полноценной системой подстанций. Суть технологии базируется на светодиодах и объясняется тем, что подстанции-базы с определенной периодичностью посылают лазерные лучи на сами очки и таким образом точно замеряют их позицию в пространстве. Это позволяет отследить движение головы и подстроить картинку под него.

Пример шлема с отслеживанием местоположения

В более бюджетных решениях подобные технологии не используются. Там для взаимодействия с предметами нужна клавиатура или джойстик.  Хотя смотреть по сторонам в них вполне можно.

ДОПОЛНЕННАЯ РЕАЛЬНОСТЬ

Простейший пример с одним из простейших Nokia

Сразу скажем – это не синонимы и не дополняющие друг друга решения. Это – две абсолютно разные технологии.

Дополненная реальность (от англ. augmented reality – AR) – это технология «дорисовывания» картинки или видео на изображение, получаемое с камеры устройства. Всем наверняка помним какие-нибудь фильмы про роботов, в окулярах(глазах?) которых сразу всплывают подсказки об о месте, оружии противника и т.д. Вот это – дополненная реальность.

Простейшим гаджетом для использования дополненной реальности является смартфон – современных мощностей вполне хватает на обработку и «дорисовку» нужного контента. Каждый из нас наверняка сталкивался с каким-либо приложением, которое добавляет к изображению фронтальной камеры какие-нибудь элементы и эффекты – это тоже дополненная реальность.

Спектр использования дополненной реальности, как ни странно, гораздо шире такого у реальности виртуальной. Медицина, военная техника, автомобили – всем было бы удобно получать какую-либо информацию прямо на экране очков или же бортовом стекле. Однако и создание специализированных приборов для просмотра этой самой реальности более сложное и дорогостоящее. На данный момент в продаже имеется угнетающе малое количество подобных устройств.

Тем не менее, в будущем этот пробел заполнится – потенциал для развития AR огромен. Практически в любой объект можно встроить определенные метки, которые будет считывать устройство. Каждый товар в магазине, каждое здание на экскурсии и многое-многое другое.

УСТРОЙСТВА ДЛЯ ПРОСМОТРА

Оборудование для входа в рай

Устройства для работы с VR можно поделить на 2 группы – шлемы и гарнитуры. Поговорим подробнее.

Шлемами называются системы, снабженные полноценным экраном и подстанциями для определения местоположения шлема. Такие устройства также называются Head Mounted Display – т.е. дисплеями, укрепленными на голове. Фактически, так оно и есть – приборы представляют собой мониторы с линзами и датчиками местоположения. Такие мониторы надеваются на голову – и вуаля. Вы в виртуальной реальности. К такому типу устройств относятся Oculus Rift, HTC Vive и PlayStation VR.

Преимущества:

  • настоящая виртуальная реальность, практически без ограничений.

Недостатки:

  • Вес - устройства весят около 300-400 граммов и при длительном использовании гарантированы неприятные ощущения в области шеи.
  • Цена - устройства сложные, требуют больших затрат – отсюда и цены.
  • Необходимость иметь мощный пк – мы не просто так назвали шлемы «мониторами». А мониторам всегда нужен системный блок.

Вторым типом приспособлений является так называемая «гарнитура» - устройство представляющее собой этакую подставку для смартфона с линзами. Наиболее известные из них - Samsung Gear VR, Fibrum и Google Cardboard.

Один из наиболее бюджетных вариантов очков-гарнитур

Как оно работает? Просто. В корпус вставляется смартфон с запущенным приложением, к нему (к смартфону) подключается беспроводной пульт управления (джойстик\клавиатура) и наушники. Благодаря линзам экран смартфона увеличивается и вуаля – мы в виртуальной реальности. Правда, передвигаться в ней приходится при помощи нажатия на клавиши, а для поворотов головы смартфон должен быть оснащен гироскопом.

Преимущества:

  • цена (Fibrum стоит около 3 тысяч рублей).

Недостатки:

  • Необходимость использования сторонних контроллеров для движения.
  • Необходимость наличия мощного смартфона.

ПРОГНОЗЫ НА БУДУЩЕЕ

Вероятно, в будущем выражение "отправить ребёнка погулять" перестанет быть связано с улицей

Согласно данным аналитической компании Canalys, в 2016 году было продано более 2 миллионов устройств класса «шлем». Что касаемо устройств-гарнитур, то их продажи перевалили за несколько миллионов.

Однако эти цифры далеко не радужные – отмечают аналитические агентства. Спрос оказался ниже ожидаемого и виной тому – нехватка контента. Аналитики говорят, что отрасли еще нужно время для развития.

Наша компания согласна с мнение аналитиков. Около двух лет назад мало кто вообще слышал об об очках виртуальной реальности – но теперь отрасль развивается стремительными темпами. Сейчас качественные устройства еще дороги – но вспомните, не было ли точно так же с мобильными телефонами и компьютерами, которые сегодня есть практически у каждого?

Остается только ждать и готовить контент для адаптации. И когда-нибудь (весьма вероятно, что уже достаточно скоро) очки виртуальной или дополненной реальности потеснят стандартные мониторы.